Politics of Depression

Got another implied comment that it must be nice to have disability checks coming in for my depression.

Yes, it’s great. Everyone should be getting in on this.

All you have to do is attempt suicide three times, spend weeks in psychiatric wards, develop a few crippling addictions, wake up with the same energy you have with a bad flu everyday and then spend 16 months in court trying to convince a judge that you are actually sick.

Then you get the “benefit” of a monthly check that’s below the wages of a minimum wage burger flipper.

I get that people may feel resentful that I am collecting upon the Social Security I worked for since age 16, no one wants to work while others get handouts. But spend a bit of time in my shoes, experience what I have experienced and then come back and talk to me about who has a “privileged” existence.

Leave a Reply

